I loved this book. It is a futuristic crime solving story. The book has interesting and plausible characters. The story is believable. From the first page of this book, you are hooked into the world of robots. I fear this book is a prelude of our future. I enjoyed the story and would highly recommend it. Am looking forward to the next book in the series.

“I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This didn’t affect my opinion of the book.”

***~~~***

There are a lot of things to like about the story of hard nosed, seen-it-all detective Jake who hunts for killer robots in the near future. Topping the list of positives is the very natural dialogue. Often, as I was reading it, I would think – this is the way people actually talk. Another strong point was the vivid central character. Jake is a stereotype (grizzled cop done wrong by the system) but author Bass gives him a warts and all portrait, with some moments of fun awkwardness that ring painfully true. I enjoyed the central idea – that a code to kill someone was passing around in the electronic “aether” and could cause a synthoid robot to kill someone at any time. My complaints are that it was too short and left me hanging too much for the resolution of the plot to be fully satisfying. I won’t disclose more than that, because that would spoil it for the potential reader. Sometimes the vignette style of the chapters worked, but sometimes they felt too choppy. I wanted to dig into the scenes a little more.

Bass does a good job capturing his world. There are a few moments of sly humor in the narrative – a reference to an antique Chevy Volt for example – that relate to our present day world in a nice way. It’s a fun quick read. The central character will keep your attention and makes it worth it.

***~~~***

The story hints at Blade Runner and I, Robot in that it centers on synthetic humanoids who appear to have been reprogrammed to kill humans. It’s basically a murder-for-hire scheme where the murderer is an android – thus no finger prints or DNA to leave behind as evidence. It’s an intriguing concept and I thoroughly enjoyed the book, which was more of a novelette or long short story. I look forward to the next installment in this series.

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This did not influence either my opinion of the book or this review.*

***~~~***

I absolutely loved this book. I am generally not a science fiction fan but this book wrapped me up and kept me reading and wanting to read more. At first it was a bit confusing but once I realized that the characters looked like human beings I was able to grasp the full context of the book. It was full of twists and turns that I didn’t expect and the ending was awesome. It left me hungry for more. I cannot wait for the next book in the series to come out.

***~~~***

Murder by Munchausen is an intense, fast-paced story. The characters are real to life in this futuristic thriller where a robot, that is supposed to be of service to humans, is infected with a computer virus, and commits murder. The plot includes separate investigations that may be linked, but that link is not well recognized by the investigators, once partners, and now in a complicated relationship. The plot is complex, well written, and uses a futuristic Cleveland, Ohio as the location. I can see this story be a reality in the not-so-distant future. Great story. Looking forward to the sequel.

***~~~***

A police procedural thriller ripped from future headlines!

Artificial Intelligence?  Fuhgeddaboudit!

Artificial Evil has a name…Munchausen.

When androids are reprogrammed into hit men, detectives of the Artificial Crimes Unit repo the AnSub and track down the hackers. Partners Jake and EC’s case of an “extra-judicial” divorce settlement takes a nasty turn with DNA from a hundred-year-old murder in Boston and a signature that harkens back to the very first serial killer ever in London.

View Murder by Munchausen on Amazon.com

View Murder by Munchausen at Barnes & Noble Online

